How to proceed to create a Coursedatabase

Hallo,

I’m new to pimcore. Could someone with experience please guide me towards the proper direction?

I want to create a course database. To avoid facing big problems later on: Which of the options below should I choose? Which option shouldn´t I choose - and why? What did I miss?

My plan:
The uppermost layer contains fields which are the same for all courses.
The second layer: 3 types (video, web-based-training, face-to-face) with inherited fields - but also different fields.

In what way should I create a course:

• a table? tried&tested - but it would be “rigid”
  • objectbricks? not rigid - but they would have to be added manually - or require a bunch of eventlisteners
  • tags? not rigid - but they would have to be added manually, and I´d have to check if they are already created

At the moment I´m for table and tags…
Which direction should I choose to be able to insert and report courses via API most easily?
Table would contain the fields which don´t change that often, while dates (for face-to-face courses) would be tags…

Should I create different versions of a course as variants?

Questions over questions…what´s the best practice?

Thanks & Bye

Michael

I have a question before I can reply with an answer.

What do you mean by “table”? I’m truly hoping here you’re not planning to have a course represent a new table in your MySQL database (apart from Pimcore’s object table). That would be a bad practice and completely unnecessary. Please alleviate my worries. :smiley:

Hi Tomislav,

I had in mind ONE table for all the courses - which would be filled with basic-info-columns, additional columns depending on the course type (yes, bloat/mostly empty columns - but easier to read) and a column for each new tag. If a tag already exists, no new column would be created. Each new course would only be a row.