Twig templates and complex logic architecture?

Due to some discussion I recently have started here it looks that chances are Twig templates become kind of mandatory in the future (Is there a possibility to extend a Twig template with a PHP template?).

As I am new to Pimcore have a few questions regarding the architecture of my application.

As far as I have learned I need to query the data which I need within my views in the corresponding Controllers - e.g. like:

public function detailAction(Request $request)
{
    // "id" is the named parameters in "Static Routes"
    $article = DataObject\BlogArticle::getById($request->get('id'));

if (!$article instanceof DataObject\BlogArticle || !$article->isPublished()) {
        throw $this->createNotFoundException('Invalid request - no such blog article');
    }

$this->view->article = $article;
}

Are the Controllers basically the correct place for this? Because Controllers are not a good place for complex logic, so where do I put my “super fancy function which calculates the HTML for a slider using fancybox based on article data containing a lot of metadata and a golden ratio for my two first article images including an external feed and two curl requests”?

One thing I have read about are Twig extensions, but not sure if this is the correct place for a task like described above?

A great answer which tells me to write “Twig functions or filters” was found on SO: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/32920217/how-to-call-static-function-in-symfony2-twig-template. I guess in Pimcore this is the AppBundle\Templating\Helper\ … ? Classes in there extend the (?deprecated?) \Twig_Extension class and seem to provide a get_functions and a get_filter method which can perform arbitrary actions?

Basically the Controller is responsible for business logic. So, you should query your data in the controller like:

public function detailAction(Request $request)
{
    // "id" is the named parameters in "Static Routes"